Morning links: Jim McMahon named Davey O’Brien Legends Award winner; Rudy Gobert ranked; RSL’s picks graded

The Davey O’Brien Award website announced Friday that former BYU quarterback Jim McMahon will be honored as the 16th recipient of the Davey O’Brien Legends Award.

They wrote, “McMahon, the 1981 Davey O’Brien Award winner, is the 16th Davey O’Brien Legends Award recipient. He becomes the first player to be honored by the foundation as a collegian and following a professional career.”

After talking about the history of the award, they went into detail on McMahon’s career with BYU and in the NFL, saying, “McMahon was a two-time All-American (1980, 1981) at BYU before being selected by the Chicago Bears in the first round (fifth overall) of the 1982 National Football League Draft. The 1982 UPI NFC Rookie of the Year played a total of 119 NFL games over 15 seasons for the Bears, San Diego Chargers, Philadelphia Eagles, Minnesota Vikings, Arizona Cardinals and Green Bay Packers.”

Continue reading at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s